Monday, May 12, 2008

We Call This Place, ILIGAN!

We call this place ILIGAN - The city of Majestic Waterfalls.

Iligan City is bounded on the north by the municipalities of Lugait, Manticao, Opol, and Cagayan de Oro City in Misamis Oriental, to the south by the municipalities of Baloi, Linamon and Tagoloan of Lanao del Norte, to the east by the territories of Lanao del Sur and Bukidnon, and to the west by Iligan Bay. This is also the 2nd largest city in Northern Mindanao next to Malaybalay City.

Known as the City of Majestic Waterfalls, there are around 20 waterfalls in and around Iligan. Among them is the magnificent Maria Cristina Falls, home of Mindanao's primary hydroelectric power station, and Limunsudan Falls.

Iligan is also the Industrial Center of the South. It produces hydroelectric power for the Mindanao region through the National Power Corporation (NAPOCOR), the site of the Mindanao Regional Center (MRC) housing Agus IV, VI and VII hydroelectric plants. It also houses industries like steel, tinplate, cement and flourmills. The National Steel Corporation, one of the largest steel manufacturers in the Southeast Asian region, now Global Steelworks International Incorporated was re-opened in 2003 after heavy setbacks resulting to its closure in 1999. Iligan along with it's neighboring city, Cagayan de Oro City, are the two major components for the Cagayan de Oro-Iligan Corridor, the fastest developing area in Northern Mindanao. To the west, Iligan Bay provides ferry and container ship transportation. East of the city, flat cultivated coastal land gives way to steep volcanic hills and mountains providing the waterfalls and cold springs for which the area is well known.

No comments:

Post a Comment